Kanta Filipinas.. Himig OPM 2015 – The Finalists

As part of the roster of activities and the culminating event and highlight of this year’s celebration of the 117th Philippine Independence Day the Philippine Consulate in Jeddah once again tapped the expertise and artistry of events and entertainment masters, FAME (The Filipino Artiste Migrant Ensemble), to stage another musical talent-based competition entitled Kanta Filipinas.. Himig OPM 2015 (KFHO 2015).

KFHO 2015 is a singing contest limited to Original Pilipino Music masterpieces to be performed by locally residing Filipino singers who qualified for the finals.  The finalists have been chosen from among the many talents that came to audition for a chance at becoming the first ever grand winner.

Here are the aspiring Filipino artists representing different cities and provinces of the Philippines to perform and battle for the title ‘Kanta Filipinas.. Himig OPM 2015 Grand Champion” on June 13, 2015 at the Philippine Consulate Grounds.

FAME proudly presents the 10 grand finalists that will showcase what Filipino world class talent is all about.

The crème de la crème.  The best of the best.

Welgea Cepe Barbosa, 24, Albay

j

Welgea, a nurse by profession, is the youngest and the wild card contestant in Kanta Filipinas Himig OPM 2015. On joining KFHO 2015 she has this to say for herself, “I want to prove something to myself and my family. God has given me the talent so gagamitin ko ito sa tama at mabuting paraan.” (“I want to prove something to myself and my family. God has given me the talent so I must make use of it in the right way.”)

Janero Quiachon Dagohoy, 39, Negros Occidental

g

This contender from Murcia, a beautiful town ten minutes east of Bacolod City, shares that before Kanta Filipinas 2015, he has not sung for 17 years. Here’s why after all those years Janero is stepping up on to that stage again, “I know I should be the first Kanta Filipinas Grand Champion because it runs in my veins, that I’m a great singer, and most especially I’m somebody with a proud Filipino blood.”

Benjamin Encina Jo, 46, Rizal

f

Benjamin is one of the contenders with a strong audition making him a force to be reckoned with in this competition. He is into the standards the likes of ‘I Who Have Nothing’, and Filipino classics including the George Canseco masterpiece ‘Ngayon at Kailanman’.

Mark Ligo Mercader, 27, Laguna

i

“I will do my best to show kung anong meron ako at kung ano ang kaya kong gawin at maideliver ko ang song nang maayos.” (“I will do my best to show what I’ve got and what I’m capable of and to be able to deliver my performance flawlessly.”) Those were the words this talented soul singer humbly shared with us about joining KFHO 2015.

Glenn Medice Rabe, 39, Manila

e

Glenn, like many is one contender who has been in the singing contest scene for a while now and has won titles along the way. Will he win the title of KFOH 2015 Winner? “I should be the first Kanta Filipinas Champion because I have this dream and I will do everything for my dream.”, Glenn expresses his strong conviction.

Jerryco Penalba Mendoza, 35, Tagaytay

b

On being the first Kanta Filipinas winner, “Naniniwala ako na kaya ko kasi marami ang naniniwala sa aking talento. At para ito sa family ko dahil matagal na nilang pangarap ito para sa akin.” (“I truly believe that I can do it (winning the grand prize) because a lot of people believe in my gift. I dedicate this to my family because this has been their dream for me for a long time.”), says this contestant who was previously a finalist in ABS-CBN’s The Filipino Channel’s kingdom-wide search for the TFC Popstar in Riyadh KSA.

Bernard Hillares Doza, 37, Pasig City

d

“I was born to perform.” Those were the five words that Bernard shared to FAME when asked why he should be the first ever Kanta Filipinas grand champion. This thirty seven year old belter has proven his talent a number of times in the past as he was the Taif Got Talent Champion, JPOP Second Runner-Up, and was a grand finalist in FAME’s Western Region’s Got Talent Season 3.

Michelle Villar Damaso, 29, General Santos City

c

One of the only two ladies in a male-dominated batch of talents, Michelle is a powerful belter and is ready to take on the KFHO 2015 stage with her high notes and beautiful melody. “I want to share my talent and ability to sing.” Truth be told, such is a noble goal for a naturally gifted individual.

Ryian Fermiza Almelor, 38, Zamboanga Del Sur

h

Ryian is a soulful balladeer.  This effortlessly showed in his audition piece.  One of the judges’ comments was that ‘You say singing must come from the heart and you did exactly just that – sing from the heart.” Guess this is his way of capturing his audience as he previously joined similar competitions in the past, namely, Himig ng Kalayaan 2011, Kabayan Idol 2007, and J-POP Season I.

Eliemer Laosi Bation, 33, Misamis Oriental

a

On the idea of possibly becoming the first Kanta Filipinas grand winner, Eliemer has a few but direct to the point words to say, “Because I am deserving and simply the best.” Some of his OPM song choices are Hajji Alejandro’s Kay Ganda Ng Ating Musika, Ciara Sotto’s Dakilang Lahi, and the Sharon Cuneta-popularized Ikaw, to name a few.

Kanta Filipinas.. Himig OPM 2015 is brought to you by Sarawat Superstores, LBC, and Moneygram, and in part by Aeropostale and Art’s Cuisine.

The Sponsors:

Sarawatlogo 2 (3)LBC CMYK 3D Pos (3)

MG Moneygrado landscape logo

AEROPOSTALE (3)

Arts (3)

Images: Jace Domingo

One thought on “Kanta Filipinas.. Himig OPM 2015 – The Finalists

Leave a Reply

